Widmer Hefe Shandy

Posted: November 27, 2015 in Hefeweizen, Reviews, Widmer Brothers Brewing Company

Val picked out this beer awhile back. It is a summer seasonal from Widmer, which I don’t see around all that much. I know that it seems like I waited way too long to drink this, keep in mind that I schedule my posts awhile in advance, although I don’t think drinking this fresh would have helped it much.

widmer

ABV: 4.2%

Style: Hefeweizen

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “HEFE SHANDY IS A BRIGHT, REFRESHING AND SESSIONABLE BEER BREWED FOR THE SUMMER. THE ORIGINAL AMERICAN HEFEWEIZEN GETS A BOLD, NEW CITRUSY AROMA AND FLAVOR FROM LEMON DROP HOPS AND NATURAL LEMONADE FLAVOR. HEFE SHANDY IS 4.2% ABV AND 12 IBU.”

Random: I really like the mug they have on their website. Generally speaking, their merchandise is attractive, although I’m not sure as to the validity of their claim as “Oregon’s favorite craft beer.”

This beer poured with less than a half a finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing. The body was a cloudy, bright yellow with no visible carbonation but lots of visible floaties. The nose had an odd lemon note that was like artificial lemon syrup. There wasn’t much wheat. The taste was like lemons that had gone rancid. It reminded me of old lemonade and I couldn’t stomach more than one or two sips. The body was light with high carbonation. The finish was quick with the same awful lemon taste. A bottle of this was $1.49 at Half Time in New York, which came to $.12 per ounce. This is one of the worst beers that I’ve had in recent memory.

Untappd Rating: 0.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

