Cigar City Brew Bus Rollin Dirty

Posted: November 30, 2015 in Cigar City Brewing, Irish Red Ale, Reviews

I absolutely hate getting sick. I’m a crappy patient and I refuse to call out of work for being sick. I also can’t review any beer. This really shouldn’t have any visible effect as I post in advance, but it just generally sucks. I’ve been battling this nasty cold/flu thing for 4 days now and I have a fever and congestion and I’ve been coughing like crazy. I can’t wait to feel better because this is just bad. I’ve been taking NyQuil at night and that stuff makes me have the weirdest, most vivid dreams and I wake up feeling hung over. Anyways, let’s talk about this beer.

brewbus

ABV: 5%

Style: Irish Red Ale

Trivia: “According to the brewery website, “An Irish style red ale, deep amber in color with a forward caramel flavor and hints of chocolate. English hops lend an herbal bitterness for balance.”

Random: This won bronze two years in a row (2014 and 2015) in Best Florida Beer Competition.

This beer poured with a one finger, white head that dissipated almost instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a slightly cloudy, mahogany color with moderate carbonation. The nose had sweet, caramel malt with a touch of peat. Toffee was present as well. The taste had a lot of sweet malt, then herbal tea. It had caramel and toffee with brown sugar. The body was thick for the style with moderate carbonation. The finish was lengthy with lots of sweetness, specifically toffee and caramel. This was $2.08 for the can, which came to $.17 per ounce. This was a drinkable beer, but nothing outstanding. I wouldn’t rush to have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

