Smuttynose Smuttlabs Durtay

Posted: December 4, 2015 in American Strong Ale, Reviews, Smuttynose Brewing Company

One of the cool things about going to a brewery is getting to pick up beers that I don’t normally see in Jersey. Although the Smuttlabs series has gotten to the NJ market, I don’t see every single release and some of them are “brewery only.” Since I could find very little information about this beer on the website, I don’t have much background about the beer, so let’s give it a try.

durtay

ABV: 12.7%

Style: American Strong Ale

Trivia: I didn’t find much on this beer, except that it is a hoppy brown ale that is aged in Berkshire rum barrels.

Random: I don’t really like rum. I never have. I’m more of a boubon/whiskey person.

This beer poured with a half a finger of tan head that dissipated quickly. It didn’t leave any lacing on the glass. but it did leave a crown. The body was a dark brown with no visible carbonation because of the color. The nose was really strong. I picked up a lot of vanilla followed by raw booze. Rum came through as well with molasses. The taste also had a lot of oak and rum characteristics. Vanilla, molasses and brown sugar were there with some nuttiness. I didn’t pick up a lot of hoppiness. Alcohol was warming and present on the back of the throat. It had a thick and silky mouthfeel with light carbonation. The finish was long with sweetness from the molasses and alcohol warming. I don’t remember how much we paid for this beer since we bought it from the brewery and the receipt has long since been thrown out. When I took my first sip, I wasn’t a big fan of the beer. As it warmed, the flavors really balanced out and made this an enjoyable beer.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

