Smuttynose Smuttlabs Smuttwater 1.0

Posted: December 5, 2015 in Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale, Smuttynose Brewing Company

I wish I could get over this cold. I’ve tried a bunch of different over the counter medications, and I’m feeling marginally better, but I just can’t get rid of this thing. Everyone else in my office is sick as well, so there is a lot of tea, cough drops, and tissues around. Now that you’ve heard the drudgery about me being sick, let’s discuss today’s beer.

smuttwater

ABV: 7.2%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: The only information that the website featured about this beer was that it is a hoppy farmhouse-style beer with Brett and brewed in collaboration with Stillwater Artisanal.

Random: I heard on a beer podcast that Stillwater is starting to work on sour beers. I can’t wait to give those a try.

This beer poured with a huge, four finger, thick white head that left a lot of spider web lacing on my Tree House Teku glass. The body was a cloudy, straw yellow with moderate carbonation. The nose had apricot, peach, hay with the usual Brett funk. The taste didn’t have the same funk from the Brett, instead the Brett really dried this beer out. It had pear and mild citrus at first, then it transitioned into hay and wheat. It ended with some green apple and pear. It wasn’t as hoppy as I expected, but I was alright with that. The body had moderate thickness and it was incredibly dry. There was high carbonation as well. The finish was lengthy with hay and pear. I found this bomber for $12.99, which broke down to $.59 per ounce. This isn’t what I expected from this beer at all, but I really enjoyed it.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

