Smuttynose Smuttlabs Schmutzig

Posted: December 6, 2015 in American IPA, Reviews, Smuttynose Brewing Company

Christmas is my favorite holiday. I love listening to Christmas songs and picking out a tree and decorating it. This will be the first year that we get to have a tree in our house, which is exciting. We are both a bit concerned that the kittens will try to climb said tree. Angel (our adult cat) tried once when I first got him, but after that, he just lounged underneath it. I guess we’ll see how it goes. I may need a beer if they try to climb the tree…

schmutzig

ABV: 6%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: The only information I could find on this beer was that it was a Bavarian IPA – Ale made in the USA.

Random: I got the glass you see in the picture in Maine. It’s one of my favorites.

This beer poured with a large, three finger, pure white head. It dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a clear and warm, light orange color. It had a lot of carbonation visible. The nose had a lot of Belgian characteristics to it. It had Belgian yeast with spice and clove as well. The taste had banana notes and then went into yeast and clove. It also had a lemon zest note and sour characteristic that I wasn’t the biggest fan of. It had a thicker body with moderate carbonation. The finish was long and spicy with clove and Belgian yeast. This was $6.99 for the bottle ($.58 per ounce). I liked the beer, but it had a lot going on and didn’t transition well. The sour note just made the beer disjointed and I couldn’t get used to it by the end of the glass.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

