Smuttynose Smuttlabs Baja Hoodie

Posted: December 10, 2015 in American Amber/Red Lager, Reviews, Smuttynose Brewing Company

With the onset of the colder weather, it’s been deer mating season. This means that they spend even more time eating what is left of my lawn and running in the street. The deer in my neighborhood are not afraid of cars or people. When I get home later at night, sometimes the deer like to get right next to my car. The kittens like watching them along with the birds too. Time to talk about beer.

bajahoodie

ABV: 8.4%

Style: American Amber/Red Lager

Trivia: All I could find on the website was that this is an amber lager brewed with chili peppers and agave syrup.

Random: It is most definitely hoodie weather.

This beer poured with less than a finger of cream-colored head that dissipated almost instantly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a dark, cloudy mahogany color with a decent amount of carbonation visible. The nose had some caramel malts with hot pepper. The taste started with some sweetness. I assume this was from the caramel malts and agave syrup. It quickly transitioned into chili peppers. The transition was rough and not very good. It had a medium body with light carbonation. The finish was quick with hot peppers. This was $6.50 for the bottle ($.41 per ounce). I thought that this beer would be right in my wheelhouse, given the addition of the chili peppers, which I thought would be balanced by the agave syrup. But, I didn’t love the heat of the peppers, which I thought could have been more intense and the flavors were generally disjointed. I wouldn’t have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

