Banded Horn Pepperell Pilsner

Posted: December 11, 2015 in Banded Horn Brewing Co., German Pilsener, Reviews

While I was getting ready to watch a football game, I was craving a pilsner. It’s a rare craving that I get, but when I had it, I grabbed for this beer that I first tried at the brewery in Maine. I poured it into my Maine Beer Company glass as well. Let’s see if it quenched my craving.

pepperell

ABV: 4.6%

Style: German Pilsener

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Unfiltered German Pilsener, or Keller Pils. Light and extremely drinkable. Malt is fresh and bready, with an aroma that only comes from a true lager. Hops are sharp, noble, and spicy, with a deep herbal touch. Dry, crisp, and hoppy. Perfect session beer.”

Random: I have to try some more pilsners. I’m starting to appreciate their simplicity, and the difficultly in crafting them well.

This beer poured with a two finger, pure white head. It dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow color with light carbonation. The nose was light with bread and grains. There was also slight, clean hop character to it as well. The taste was clean and dry. It had the same grain and bread notes that were apparent in the nose. It had some spicy hops as well. The body was light with moderate carbonation. It had a quick finish with spicy, grassy hops. A single cost $2.17, which came to $.18 per ounce. This beer did exactly what I wanted it to. It was clean and dry and had nice flavor. I would have it again, although it’s another beer that isn’t distributed to New Jersey.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

