Triporteur From Heaven

Posted: December 17, 2015 in B.O.M. Brewery, Belgian Pale Ale, Reviews

After Weyerbacher, we stopped for a bite to eat at a French restaurant. They had a good tap list, but didn’t list the breweries who made the beers, so I had to search for ones that I haven’t reviewed before. This beer is one that I have never heard of, so I figured that I should give it a shot.

fromheaven

ABV: 6.2%

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A heavily hopped beer brewed using home-baked malt. Triporteur From Heaven is the modern version of traditional hopped ale. It is a heavenly beer brewed with home-baked BOM malt. The wheat malt in the unfiltered beer can produce a light cloudiness. The taste of Heaven remains evolving in the bottle.”

Random: I had a butternut squash soup with bacon for an appetizer. It was pretty good.

This beer poured with a three finger, white head that dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the tulip glass. The body had a golden-yellow color with moderate carbonation visible. The nose was quite hoppy. I picked up grass and lemon hops and then yeast came through. The taste was intensely hoppy, even more than I thought based on the nose. The first thing that I picked up was earthy and grassy hops. After a few sips, lemon zest was present. At the end of the sip, I picked up the most surprising flavor, which was white grapes, which were reminiscent of a dry, white wine. There was spice to the beer as well (light coriander). The body was dry and on the thinner side with moderate carbonation. It had a quick finish with grassy hops. Although this beer wasn’t what I expected it to be, I enjoyed this unique take on a Belgian pale. But, I found the hoppiness to be intense and didn’t showcase the Belgian characteristics I look for. I’m glad I tried it, but I’m not going to rush back to have it.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Comments
  1. […] had never heard of Triporteur until I saw one of the beers on tap at a restaurant (From Heaven). After trying that beer, I knew I wanted to try this one. It was on a shelf at Half Time and came […]

Leave a Reply

