Crooked Stave Progenitor

Posted: December 19, 2015 in American Wild Ale, Crooked Stave Brewery and Taproom, Reviews

One of the podcasts that I listen to recorded all of the salons from Savor 2015. They’re really interesting and makes me want to go to the event even more. So far, I’ve listened to one on wood aging and one on cooking with hops. The next one is about the “farm to bottle” movement. Tonight’s selection is from a brewery that puts out very good stuff using lots of wild yeast, so I guess that could be considered “farm to bottle.” I had the “noir” version of this in July. You can check out that review here.

progenitor

ABV: 6.2%

Style: American Wild Ale

Trivia: This was first released in February of 2015.

Random: You can see Angel in the background, curious about the beer I opened.

When I popped this bottle open, it started slowly gushing. I managed to pour it before it exploded all over. When I finally got it into a glass, it had a three finger, white head. It took awhile to dissipate and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, lemon yellow color with no visible carbonation because of the haziness. The nose had some tart white vinegar, lemon candy and mild horse blanket. The taste started with tart, white vinegar. Lemon flesh and pith came through next along with bready yeast. There was a white wine characteristic to it with lacto as well. I didn’t pick up as much horse blanket in the taste as the nose. There was a light wood note as well, like a toasted wood. The body was on the thinner side with light carbonation. It had a lengthy tart finish with lacto and lemon candy. A bottle of this was $12.99 ($1.01 per ounce), which is definitely not cheap, and it’s also not distributed to New Jersey. I really enjoyed the complexity of this beer. Every sip that I took, I found a new dimension of flavor. This is a must have beer if you enjoy sours.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

