Smuttynose Smuttlabs Kung Fu Hobo

Posted: December 21, 2015 in Kolsch, Reviews, Smuttynose Brewing Company

It’s getting closer and closer to Christmas. I usually wait until the very last-minute to start my Christmas shopping and I wrap gifts like a blind child. It always annoys me how much time I put into wrapping gifts and how little time that it takes to unwrap them. I have an aunt whose gifts look like they were wrapped professional. I don’t have the time nor the desire to do that, but I do give her a lot of credit. My parents and sister usually coordinate wrapping paper to the person that the gift belongs to, which I have tried on occasion, but then I still end up getting tags to put on the gifts. Now that you’ve heard all about my aversion to gift wrapping, it’s time to talk about beer.

kungfuhobo

ABV: 5.5%

Style: Kolsch

Trivia: The website calls this beer a “track-side kolsch” and says that it is best with beans.

Random: This was another beer that I picked up in Maine.

This brew poured with a one finger, pure white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. If left a very modest crown on top of the clear, straw yellow body. Light carbonation was present. The nose was very subtle with hay and grain. There was a vegetal hop note as well. The taste had a herbaceous hop note with hay and cracker. It had a slight, yet pleasant bitterness. The body was medium thickness for the style with high carbonation. It had a quick finish with the same slight bitterness and hay. This tall boy was $2.25 a single ($.14 per ounce), which isn’t a bad price for the beer. I liked this beer. It had nice flavor and went down easily. It wasn’t the best that I’ve ever had, but worth a shot.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

