Stevens Point Whole Hog Pumpkin Ale

Posted: January 10, 2016 in Pumpkin Ale, Reviews, Stevens Point Brewery

Since I created a new spreadsheet on all the beers I’ve had, I can take a look at different metrics (yes, very dorky, I know). After reviewing this beer, I looked at the pumpkin beers I’ve reviewed. This will be review #53 of pumpkin ales. I review an average of 7.6 pumpkin ales a year, with the biggest year being 21 reviews in 2014. In 2015, I reviewed 7 and so far in 2016, I’ve reviewed 3. So, this year looks like I will hit above average for them. This one comes with a great reputation and many sites put this as a top beer in the style. Hopefully, I agree with them.

wholehog

ABV: 7.5%

Style: Pumpkin Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Handcrafted using real pumpkin and savory pumpkin pie spices with hints of all natural cinnamon and nutmeg. Perle hops balance with rich Munich, Roasted and Caramel malts for the full-bodied taste and exceptional flavor.”

Random: This seasonal is available from August 1st to September 30th and comes in at 10 IBUs.

This beer poured with a half a finger of ecru colored head that dissipated slowly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a dark mahogany color with moderate carbonation. The nose was incredibly fragrant and inviting. There was a lot of graham cracker, cinnamon, nutmeg, clove and pumpkin. It had one of the most authentic pumpkin spice aromas that I’ve ever smelled on a beer. The taste, which I fully expected to be a disappointment, but it was just as amazing. It had a lot of pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg and clove. Then, vanilla, allspice and graham cracker came through. When the beer warmed up, there was a molasses characteristic to it that gave it some sweetness. The alcohol was really hidden. The body was on the thicker side with moderate carbonation. It had a long finish with pumpkin spice. A single of this was $2.12, which came to $.18 per ounce. I would say that this wasn’t a bad price for one of the best pumpkin beers I have ever had. I will definitely have this again and start looking out for it every fall.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

