Banded Horn Greenwarden

Posted: January 28, 2016 in American Pale Ale, Banded Horn Brewing Co., Reviews

One of the flavors that I’m really starting to like in beer is the addition of pine or spruce tips, especially in the colder weather. I don’t know if it’s because it brings me back to a Christmas flavor or what, but when a beer utilizes the flavor well, I really enjoy it. This beer was one that I first sampled at the brewery during my vacation and absolutely fell in love with the beer.

greenwarden

ABV: 5.6%

Style: American Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Pale ale with spruce tips added. An ale of mythical proportions – heroically brewed with Maine-foraged spruce tips. And infused with the dauntless vitality of northern trees.”

Random: I should have brought more of this beer home with me.

This brew poured with a dense, one finger, pure white head. It dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a dusky straw color with moderate carbonation visible. The nose had caramel malt with fresh pine needles as well. The taste was just outstanding. It started with the same sweet, caramel malt and transitioned into fresh pine and pine sap. There was an earthiness to it as well with some juniper notes at the end. The body was medium thick with just enough carbonation. It had a lengthy finish with the same pine sap. A single of this was $2.17, which came to $.18 per ounce. I really liked this beer. The pine was bright and fresh and every sip made me want another. If you’re ever in Biddeford, Maine and Banded Horn has this beer, make sure you grab some.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Comments
  1. […] and spruce. I’ve had some beers that use spruce tips that have been absolutely excellent (Banded Horn Greenwarden)and I thought this beer would be as good. I was wrong. I wouldn’t have this again and […]

Leave a Reply

