Smuttynose Smuttlabs Blueberry Short Weisse

Posted: February 3, 2016 in Berliner Weissbier, Reviews, Smuttynose Brewing Company

This was a beer that my parents brought me back after an antiquing trip in Massachusetts. For awhile, the Smuttlabs series was difficult to get in New Jersey (at least where I live). When they told me that this was on the shelf at a beer store they were at, I was interested to give it a try. I hadn’t heard any feedback, good or bad, about it, nor was it available at the brewery when I was there.

blueberryshortweisse

ABV: 6.9%

Style: Berliner Weissbier

Trivia: This was released in April of 2015.

Random: This is another brewery that doesn’t list much information, at least for their Smuttlabs series.

This beer poured with less than half a finger of white head that dissipated instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, light purple color with no visible carbonation. The nose had some blueberry with very little tartness. I kept sniffing the beer, trying to pick up something else, and I really couldn’t find much. The taste had lemon zest and blueberry tartness. After a few sips, I got some white grapes too. The body was light with very high carbonation that was seltzer-like. It had a quick finish with the same lemon and blueberry notes. This was $6.99 for a bottle, which came to $.58 per ounce. This was a bit more expensive than the cherry version and in a corked and caged format. Price aside, I wasn’t a big fan of this beer. I wish that the tartness as well as the blueberry notes were more intense on this beer. In all fairness, I waited a while to drink this, so some of the flavors may have dropped off. I’m willing to give it another try.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

