Newport Storm Oktoberfest Marzen Lager

Posted: February 7, 2016 in Coastal Extreme Brewing Co., Marzen/Oktoberfest, Reviews

Yes, I’m drinking an Oktoberfest that is out of season. I picked it up at a beer store and wanted to see how it was. Hopefully it’s not fallen off too much.

newportstormoktoberfest

ABV: 5.6%

Style: Marzen/Oktoberfest

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “This is our most technical brew to make and one of our only lagers. The colder and longer fermentation requires precision and patience. True to the Maarzen style, copious amounts of German Vienna, Carapils, and Munich Malts lend a sweetness people ask for all year! German Tradition and Czech Saaz hops are added post boil to really authenticate this fantastic crowd favorite!”

Random: I will say that the label art on the bottle is well-done.

This beer poured with a half a finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. A very small crown was left on top of the body. The body was a clear, light amber color with minimal carbonation visible. The nose was mild, even for the style. I picked up some caramel malt and breadiness. The taste had hazelnuts and then the same caramel malt that was apparent in the nose. It then had a bitter hop note that didn’t fit with the style, that then went into a metallic note that was equally unpleasant. The body was thin and watery with light carbonation. It thankfully had a quick finish. A single of this was $1.50 ($.12 per ounce). I’ve never had a beer from this brewery, and I’m, not going to judge them on just one beer, but man, this beer was just not doing it for me. Needless to say, I don’t feel the need for another.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Comments
  1. Thanks for picking up one of our brews, but as you said, “I’m drinking an Oktoberfest that is out of season”. Think it’s a little unfair to go ahead and post a a negative review of a beer that is clearly past it’s prime. This beer is brewed and bottled usually in August/September so of course its not going to taste as great as it normally does at the start of the fall season…just saying.

    • beerproof says:

      I understand your position, but just so you’re aware, I schedule my posts months in advance after I’ve consumed the beer. I actually drank this been in November (a week or two after purchasing the beer) and this is just when the posts was scheduled to come up. My posts are my own personal opinion and a way to document these opinions and people can take them for what they are, thus why I put the disclaimer that I was drinking it out of season. Either way, thanks for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

