Goose Island Fulton Street Blend

Posted: March 6, 2016 in American Blonde Ale, Goose Island, Reviews

This was the last beer that I had at Corner Foodery. I hadn’t heard of it until I saw it on the draft list, so I had no idea what to expect.

fultonstreet

ABV: 5.5%

Style: American Blonde Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Goose Island is proud to introduce Fulton St. Blend, a coffee ale aged with House Blend beans from our neighbors at Intelligentsia. Named for the street in Chicago that we both call home, Fulton St. Blend is a golden ale infused with rich coffee flavor and aroma.”

Random: This uses Millenium hops and 2-row, Bon Munich and C-20 malts. It’s available year-round in six-packs and on draft.

This beer poured with half a finger of white head. It dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the shaker pint glass. The body was a clear, golden-yellow color with a lot of carbonation visible. The nose was very strong with lots of dark coffee. I know that I shouldn’t judge a beer by the color, but I didn’t expect this to smell almost exactly like an iced coffee. The taste was pleasant as well. I picked up a major dark roast coffee note. There was also an earthiness to it that complemented the coffee. There was a light sweetness at the end from light malts. It had a thicker body than I’m used to for the style and it had a lot of carbonation. It had a long finish with coffee. I liked this beer, as I’m a huge fan of coffee, my only complaint being that it was one-note with the coffee. I wish it had something else to balance it, which would have made it outstanding.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

