The Hop Concept Tropical & Juicy IPA (Hop Freshener Series)

Posted: March 11, 2016 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Reviews, The Hop Concept Brewing

It’s finally Friday! Again, still not a big deal for me since I work Saturdays, but at least I’m getting close to my day off. Let’s pop this bottle open and get right into it.

tropicalandjuicy

ABV: 8.5%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Aromas of floral citrus and mango dominate this release. While the flavor leads with a burst of bright papaya, pineapple and tangerine, and finishes with hints of spice from the hops and a clean, sweet malt undertone.”

Random: This is only the second beer that I’ve had from the series, but I’m really enjoying them so far.

This beer poured with a three and a half finger, pure white head. It dissipated slowly and left significant lacing on my IPA glass. The body had some cloudiness to it and was a bright orange color. There was a lot of carbonation visible as well. The nose was ridiculous. I picked up lots of tropical hops, notes of mango, pineapple and papaya came through. Grapefruit and tangerines came out next without any noticeable malt. The taste was really nice. It had mango and pineapple, then quickly went into grapefruit flesh and Cara Cara oranges. Again, no real malt presence, which I think would have made this beer outstanding. The beer was on the oily side with high carbonation. It had a lengthy finish with grapefruit flesh and bitterness. The booze on this hit right at the back of throat, but wasn’t off-putting. A bomber set me back $7, which came to $.32 per ounce. I really enjoyed this beer, but I think if it had a touch of malt, it would have really made it a great beer.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

