Coney Island Hard Ginger Ale

Posted: April 13, 2016 in Coney Island Brewing Company, Herbed/Spiced Beer, Reviews

I know that a lot of readers will not agree with my reviewing of alcopops on the site. But, they are gaining in popularity and Val likes them, and I keep this blog so that I know what I liked and didn’t like. So, with that being said, given the increased prevalence of these on shelves, you’ll be seeing some more of them, for better or for worse. This one is an alcoholic ginger ale from Coney Island, who seemed to be the second brewery to come out with a hard root beer, so it doesn’t surprise me that they’d also be the second to follow with a ginger ale.

hardgingerale

ABV: 5.6%

Style: Herbed/Spiced Beer

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “What we have behind the curtain will amaze you! Astound you! Astonish you! Hailing from deep in the ground in a far off land comes an ingredient so fragrant and so delightful that a single sip will wash away your worries like waves crashing on sunny shores. Feast your eyes on Coney Island Hard Ginger Ale: a tantalizing libation enhanced with exotic West African ginger. Are you tall enough to ride?”

Random: I didn’t drink much soda as a kid, but I always had ginger ale when my stomach hurt.

This alcopop poured with a quarter of a finger of white head that dissipated instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw color with lots of carbonation visible. The nose had ginger and some honey sweetness. The taste started with the typical ginger ale flavors. It had ginger and lemon and lime soda. It had a weird twang at the end of the sip that I wasn’t a big fan of, nor could I place my finger on, and then went into a punch of honey sweetness. The finish was lengthy with ginger and sugary sweetness. A bottle of this was $1.83 ($.15 per ounce). This was drinkable, but I definitely couldn’t have more than one and it was just too sweet for me.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

