Maine Beer Company Hop Program – Beer 1

Posted: April 15, 2016 in American IPA, Maine Beer Company, Reviews

When we made our annual holiday trip to Half Time in Mamaroneck, Val found this gem while I was online. I think I had it at the brewery, but I didn’t do a formal review and wasn’t sure I’d get to try it again. Luckily, I don’t have to worry about that anymore…

beer1

ABV: 6.5%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “The Hop Program developed as a way to experiment with new hops and new hop combinations, and also incorporate different styles of beer. It is important for us to keep learning and growing as a brewery, and the Hop Program allows us to do that. Never standing still, and always moving forward are some of the goals we aim to accomplish through this series. We hope you enjoy each new Hop Program creation.”

Random: This was first brewed in February of 2015.

The beer poured with a huge, three finger, pure white head. It dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on my IPA glass. There was also a small crown on top of the body. The body was ever-so-slightly hazy and a lemon-yellow color with a lot of carbonation. The nose was incredibly fragrant. It had grass and citrus, specifically lemon and orange. It then went into tropical notes of pineapple and mango. There was also some floral notes. The taste was much more dank than the nose. It also had something vegetal, almost like onion. It also had earthy grass notes and lemon pith. I didn’t get the tropical notes that were apparent in the nose, which I think would have balanced the onion note. It had a light body with a lot of carbonation. It had a quick finish with grass hops and onion. A bottle of this set me back $9.99, which came to $.62 per ounce. I enjoyed this beer, but I’ve had better from Maine Beer Company. I still would highly recommend it, though.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

