Boulevard Brewing Company Tell-Tale Tart

Posted: April 24, 2016 in American Wild Ale, Boulevard Brewing Company, Reviews

It seems like 2015 was the year of the sour. Every blog I read and every podcast I listened to talked about them. This year seems to be much of the same. Boulevard released this sour as part of their “Smokestack Series” and I hadn’t read any reviews of the beer – good or bad.

tell-tale tart

ABV: 6.2%

Style: American Wild Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Deriving its name from Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tale of madness and murder, our newest Smokestack Series release takes a predictably lighthearted approach to the subject of sourness. The subtle acidity of Tell-Tale Tart is answered by a soft, biscuity malt character, making this a sour ale that suggests, rather than announcing its tartness. Beginning with a bracing sharpness at first sip, the ale mellows on the palate to a smooth and faintly lingering finish.”

Random: Before everyone gives me grief about drinking this after the best by date of 1/29/16, keep in mind that I actually had it on 1/6/16 and just preschedule my posts.

This beer poured with a one finger, cream-colored head that dissipated instantly and left no lacing on the glass. It didn’t even leave a crown. The body was slightly cloudy and mahogany in color with light carbonation visible. The nose had tart cherry up front and then I got notes that reminded me of vanilla and oak, although there is no indication that this beer had any contact with a barrel. The taste started with light tartness, much like the description above, it was more subtle than I expected. The tartness had some dark cherries and I couldn’t get past this lightly toasted wood, which could have been imparted by the malt. There was a pinch of leather flavor too. Vanilla was there with some biscuit too. I just couldn’t believe how subtly tart it was, and honestly, I wasn’t a fan. It had a thin body with soda-like carbonation that was a bit too much for my liking. It had a swift finish with tart cherries. A bottle of this was on the pricier side, at $2.75 ($.22 per ounce). The beer was drinkable, but I thought it was just alright, but may be a good selection for those just getting into sours. I will give the website credit for having an incredibly accurate description of the beer.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

