Finch’s Pig In The Wood

Posted: April 25, 2016 in American Amber/Red Ale, Finch's Beer Co., Reviews

It’s been slightly over a year since I’ve had a beer from Finch’s. I wasn’t aware that they had any sort of barrel aging program, so this was a must-try for me.

piginwood

ABV: 8%

Style: American Amber/Red Ale

Trivia: This is the bourbon barrel aged version of Fascist Pig Ale which I reviewed over two years ago. Unfortunately, the Finch’s website has no information about this beer.

Random: Finch’s has really cute tote bags. Now that I’ve said that, Val will want to get one.

This beer poured with a one finger, thick, ecru-colored head that dissipated slowly. It left some lacing on the glass. There was also a small crown left on top. The body was very cloudy, to the point of being murky and a reddish-mud color. As soon as the can opened, I was hit with strong bourbon notes. Once I let it sit for a few minutes, I also picked up, vanilla, wood char and molasses. There was some slightly burnt brown sugar as well. The taste was not surprisingly, bourbon dominant. After I got past that, there was also vanilla, toasted oak and then sweetness from the molasses. It also had a caramel note at the end. The flavor was intense at first, and the alcohol provided a slight burn at the back of the throat. This is the one area that I think the beer could have used some improvement in, because it shouldn’t have been so boozy feeling at 8%. It had a thick, chewy body with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy with lots of bourbon and sweetness from the molasses. A tallboy can was $4.60 ($.28 per ounce), which is a bit on the expensive side. Despite that, I found it to be quite good (I’m also a huge fan of bourbon, so if that’s not a flavor you like, you won’t like this beer) and better than the original version.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

