Against The Grain Poffo Pilsner

Posted: May 1, 2016 in Against The Grain Brewery & Smokehouse, German Pilsener, Reviews

This is my first Against The Grain beer. I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews on other beer blogs, but haven’t gotten to try one. I picked this up during my last trip to Half Time, so hopefully it’s as good as the hype.

poffopils

ABV: 5%

Style: German Pilsener

Trivia: According to a distributors website, “OOOHHH YEAAAHH! The best there is…past, present and future! Did I say what I think I said?! This lager is only for the most savage pils drinker! Crisp and delicious, it’ll deliver flavor that you’ll savor after every pull! Yeah Yeah Yeah! Dig it! Too Cold To Hold!”

Random: I was listening to a beer podcast that was saying that people initially get into craft beer and then go to the hoppy beers and eventually come back to the more delicate styles like pilsner and kolsch. I can say that for me, this is absolutely true and I have a new appreciation for these styles.

This beer poured with a half a finger of white head that dissipated quickly. It left no lacing on the glass, but a small crown on top of the straw yellow body. There was a lot of carbonation visible. The nose had sweet grain and lightly floral hops. The taste had more flavor. It had mineral water up front. Then, sweetness from the grain came through. The floral hops that were in the nose were not nearly as apparent in the flavor. The last flavor that I could pick up was white pepper. The body was light with lots of carbonation, which made this go down incredibly easily. The finish was quick with white pepper and sweet grain. A pounder can of this was $3.75 ($.23 per ounce). I enjoyed this beer, especially since I’m enjoying the style more and it was really crushable. This would make for a great barbecue beer.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

