Captain Lawrence Hop Commander

Posted: May 12, 2016 in American IPA, Captain Lawrence Brewing Co., Reviews

when I picked this beer up, I had full expectations that it was a brand new IPA from Captain Lawrence. Upon doing my research, I found that this may not be accurate, although I can’t find compelling evidence that this isn’t a new recipe. Either way, I’m hoping that it’s a decent beer.

hopcommander

ABV: 6.5%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: This is a re-branding of their regular IPA, although I can’t figure out if the recipe changed.

Random: I still need to get out to the brewery. In all of our trips through Westchester, I still haven’t made it there.

This beer poured with a one finger, pure white head. It took a long time to dissipate and left some lacing on the glass. The body was clear and orange with a lot of carbonation visible. The nose was really strong, filled with tropical fruit. I specifically picked up mango and then pine resin came through. On first sip, it seemed to be more pine dominant. The pine resin was strong along with pine needles. After a few sips, the tropical fruit came in with mango and pineapple. Grapefruit zest came through as well. One thing I noticed was that there was no malt to speak of. It was quite hop-forward. The body was thicker than expected, but didn’t overwhelm the beer. It had plentiful high carbonation too. The finish was quick with the remnants of tropical fruit and grapefruit zest. A single bottle of this was $1.83 ($.15 per ounce). I enjoyed the beer, but it could have used a touch of malt to balance it out and some more depth.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

