Smuttynose Smuttlabs Smoked Peach Short Weisse

Posted: May 15, 2016 in Berliner Weissbier, Reviews, Smuttynose Brewing Company

When Val and I visited Smuttynose, this one the one variation in the “Short Weisse” series that I wanted to have, but couldn’t manage to get my hands on. I found it in New York and brought the bottle home to review.

smokedpeachshortweisse

ABV: 6.9%

Style: Berliner Weissbier

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Berliner-style wheat ale with peaches and smoked malt.”

Random: Grilled peaches are one of my favorite things to have at the end of the summer.

This beer poured with a half a finger of white head that dissipated slowly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy yellow color with light carbonation. The nose was filled with over-ripe peaches, very light smoke and white vinegar. Lemon pith came through as well, but this is the first beer I’ve had in the series that had a remarkable vinegar note. The taste started with mesquite smoke. It quickly transitioned into authentic peach notes, but they were much more tart than the nose. It also had an apricot note, which was to be expected since most breweries use apricot to enhance peach flavors in beer. It also had lemon juice and was moderately sour, but wasn’t overwhelming. After a few sips, I picked up some lactobacillus notes that gave the beer some depth. The body was thick for the style with high carbonation. There was a note of alcohol too, which given how high the ABV was for the style, wasn’t surprising. The finish was long with smoke and fuzzy peach skin. I bought this one for $6.99 ($.41 per ounce). I found this beer to be really unique, but my biggest problem with it was that each flavor was disjointed from the previous one, making the beer a bit muddled for me. I thought that I was going to love this beer, given my affinity for peaches, but it was just mediocre.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

