Central Waters Brewer’s Reserve Bourbon Scotch Ale

Posted: May 17, 2016 in Central Waters Brewing Co., Reviews, Scotch Ale/Wee Heavy

Man, I haven’t had a Scotch Ale since October of 2015. I tend to pass by the style, although I really like the flavors that I get from it. One of my goals is going to be finding a list of outstanding Scotch Ales and hunting them down. Until then, I’ll have this one from Central Waters to tide me over.

centralwatersscotchale

ABV: 9.5%

Style: Scotch Ale/Wee Heavy

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “This rich, malty ale has been aged to perfection in our barrel house. Subtle and smooth, this is a decadent display of patience and process. Join us in a toast to good health. Slainte!”

Random: I wish I had a neck support pillow at work. Sitting at a computer all day has been killing my neck and back lately.

This beer poured with half a finger of tan head. It dissipated slowly, but left no lacing on the glass. The body looked almost like a stout. It was dark brown with no visible carbonation. The nose had a lot of bourbon barrel characteristics. It had vanilla, bourbon and wood. It had a bit of rye spice as well. The taste was softer than I expected, given the nose. It had vanilla and bourbon, but quickly went into smooth malt. It had some spice at the end, along with booze warming. It almost had a cognac quality to it. The mouthfeel was smooth and full and had very light carbonation. It had light carbonation as well. The finish was shockingly quick with vanilla and bourbon. A single of this was expensive at $4.87 ($.41 per ounce). I enjoyed this beer a lot and it had some really nice flavor. I just wish that the scotch ale characteristics were a bit stronger.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

