Bell’s Cherry Stout

Posted: May 19, 2016 in American Stout, Bell's Brewery, Reviews

While listening to Sirius at work, I found that Josh Groban and Kelly Clarkson did a version of “All I Ask Of You” from Phantom of the Opera. When I was a child, my mother loved that musical and played the tape of it constantly. Although I thought they did a good job, I’ve been so over-exposed to the Sarah Brightman version that it just doesn’t sound right without her. Now that I’ve bored you with a story from my childhood, let’s get to tonight’s beer.

cherrystout

ABV: 7%

Style: American Stout

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Tinted ruby-black, Cherry Stout gains its signature tartness from 100% Montmorency cherries grown in Michigan’s Traverse City region. Rather than doubling up on sweetness, this tart cherry varietal serves as a counterpoint to the warm, dark chocolate notes from the malt bill. Lightly hopped for balance, this stout is one of the cornerstones of the Bell’s stout portfolio.”

Random: I like cherries, but don’t like cherry-flavored things.

This beer poured with less than a half a finger of khaki-colored head that dissipated slowly, but left no lacing on the glass. A small crown hung out on top of the dark brown body. I couldn’t see any carbonation as a result of the color. The nose had burnt coffee, roasted malts and tart cherries. It had some prunes as well. On first sip, the tart cherries came through. It quickly went into old, burnt coffee, toast and pumpernickel bread. It was really simple and had a very thin mouthfeel, which I’m not a fan of in a stout. The carbonation was lacking. It had a quick finish with tart cherries. I thought that I would really enjoy this beer, but it didn’t deliver for me, especially at $3 a single ($.25 per ounce). I don’t feel the need to have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

