Triporteur From Hell

Posted: May 28, 2016 in B.O.M. Brewery, Belgian Dark Ale, Reviews

I had never heard of Triporteur until I saw one of the beers on tap at a restaurant (From Heaven). After trying that beer, I knew I wanted to try this one. It was on a shelf at Half Time and came home with me.

fromhell

ABV: 6.66%

Style: Belgian Dark Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Triporteur From Hell is a dark beer brewed with hellish burned and roasted BOM malt. The beer reminds us of chocolate, caramel, recently brewed coffee and freshly baked bread. The wheat malt in the unfiltered beer can cause a slight cloudiness. The taste of Hell keeps evolving in the bottle.”

Random: I get so much use of out my Flying Dog glass, mostly because I tend to leave it upstairs.

The beer poured with a three finger, ecru colored head. It dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. It also left a large crown on top of the dark brown body. Because of the color, I couldn’t see much carbonation. The nose had a touch of sourness and Belgian yeast. It also had some nuttiness and light coffee. The taste also had some sourness initially, but it wasn’t bad, by any means. It also had light coffee and brown bread. The yeast was there too. Lightly toasted malts and hazelnuts were a minor flavor too. The body was pretty thick and the carbonation was aggressive. For me, it was a bit too much. The coffee lasted through the finish. This was not a cheap beer at $5.50 a single ($.46 per ounce). This beer was okay, but the carbonation was too much for my liking.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

