Barrier Cairn

Posted: June 10, 2016 in Barrier Brewing Company, Reviews, Scotch Ale/Wee Heavy

The second beer I had at Whole Foods was this Scotch Ale from another New York brewery that I’ve heard of, but never had anything from. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a Scotch Ale, so I thought I’d give it a try.

cairn

ABV: 7.2%

Style: Scotch Ale/Wee Heavy

Trivia: The brewery is located in Oceanside, NY and open from Wednesday through Sunday. Their new website is “coming soon,” so I couldn’t find any other information.

Random: When I was a kid, I always wanted a Cairn Terrier. I thought they were adorable.

The brew poured with a smaller than average head at barely a half a finger. It was light-tan in color and dissipated rapidly, leaving very little lacing on the glass. The body was a deep mahogany color, but relatively clear with moderate carbonation. The nose started with sweet, nutty malt and quickly went into peat. There was wood smoke as well and some alcohol at the end. The taste was really smooth. It had the same nuttiness to it, hazelnuts primarily, but they quickly gave way to the peat. Wood smoke was there and if I didn’t know better, would have thought that it had some barrel aging from all the oak I picked out. It had a slight maple character as well. The body was thick, without being cloying, and had light carbonation. The finish hung around forever with the same peat and wood smoke. I really enjoyed this beer. It’s definitely one of the better American interpretations that I’ve had of the style.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

