Pipeworks Close Encounter

Posted: June 13, 2016 in American Double/Imperial Stout, Pipeworks Brewing Company, Reviews

Since I post so far in advance, I’ll be home months before anyone reads this, but I was sent for two weeks to California from a business trip. Today is my first full day, so expect lots of commentary about California. I haven’t been in 10 years, so I didn’t know what to expect. I’m staying in Diamond Bar, which is slightly south of LA. Anyways, beer time.

closeencounter

ABV: 8.5%

Style: American Double/Imperial Stout

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Malts: 2-row, Caramel 80, Chocolate, Roasted Barley, Midnight Wheat. Hops: Chinook, Zythos, Falconer’s Flight. Adjuncts: Dextrose.”

Random: I worked out at the hotel gym and my back is killing me now.

This brew poured with a one finger, thick, khaki head. It took forever to dissipate and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown that was almost black with no visible carbonation because of the color. The nose had a lot of old wood smoke and ash. I also picked up roasted malts and cocoa powder. On the nose, there was not much in terms of hops, which is odd, given the fact they market this as a “hoppy stout.” The taste was really smoky, but not in a good way. It had a smoked meat taste that didn’t work for me, and I love smoked meat. It had leather and tobacco as well, but not a lot of hops. Roasted malts and milk chocolate finished the sip. The body was thick and chewy with moderate carbonation, yet the booze was hidden. It had a lengthy finish with rare, red meat and smoke. A pounder can of this was $3.49 ($.22 per ounce). I didn’t like this beer at all, no matter what the price was.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

