Off Color Le Predateur

Posted: June 27, 2016 in Off Color Brewing, Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale

I have a few days before I head back to Jersey. I cannot wait to get home. One of the things I’ve found that California does not do well is pizza. The site that I am stationed at gets pizza every few days and the best pizza they can find comes from Costco. It’s fine, but it’s not Jersey pizza. I will say that the tacos here are really, really good. The weather is nice too, although a bit too warm for my liking. Anyways, let’s talk about this beer from Chicago.

lepredateur

ABV: 6.5%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A beret-wearing, baguette-eating, mustached farmhouse ale made with French malts, French saison yeast, and Australian hops… what?”

Random: This is a fall seasonal release.

The beer poured with a half of a finger of white head. It dissipated instantly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow with moderate carbonation. The nose had a lot of sweet honey. There was also banana and bubblegum. There was also some clove. The taste had a lot of banana. Apricot came through too. The next thing that came through was yeast and clove with coriander. White pepper finished the sip. It had a thick body for the style with high carbonation. The finish was quick with spice. A single cost me $3, which came to $.25 per ounce. I enjoyed this beer a lot. It had really nice depth and flavor. I would have it again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

