Round Guys Hipster Frogger

Posted: July 8, 2016 in American Wild Ale, Reviews, Round Guys Brewing Company

Tonight’s beer is one that I picked up at the brewery during our PA brewery trip. I remember the bartender telling another customer about a different beer that was over 8%, saying that you could put a bunch of them back. 8% is not session level to me.

hipsterfrogger

ABV: 6.6%

Style: American Wild Ale

Trivia: According to philadelphiaweekly.com, “You ever encounter run across a beer description that makes you stop what you’re doing and start texting people to see if you can get anyone to go try it with you? This is one of those beers. Check it out: Lans­dale, PA’s Round Guys Brewery takes a Belgian-style dub­bel and ages it in Buffalo Trace bourbon barrels. They add oak chips soaked in 1800 Tequila and amber agave syrup to the barrels, and they spike the barrel with a strain of Bret­tano­my­ces to make things a little bit wild. Head spinning yet? Well, on Sept. 15, the Grey Lodge Pub is hosting a release party for this epic sounding beer. It may be amazing, it may be a mess, but either way it will be interesting. Oh, and they’ll have prizes for the best Frog­ger scores. Bonus!”

Random: I was never any good at Frogger. My sister was awesome at it though.

This brew poured with a half a finger of tan head that dissipated instantly. The body was very cloudy and a reddish-brown color. On the nose, I picked up notes of dark, sour cherries. There was also a balsamic vinegar note. It didn’t have the dark fruit that I would normally get from a Dubbel, so I assume that most of these notes were imparted by the Brett. I also got a touch of band-aids. The taste had less of the cherries than the nose and less sour notes as well. It had a pronounced rubber note and the same band-aid, and a biting alcohol note. After a few sips, I also picked up a flavor that reminded me of a musty basement. Again, it was difficult to pick up the barrel aging or the dubbel notes. If I tried really hard, I could pick out some raisin. The body was thin with light carbonation. The finish lasted forever with rubber and mustiness. A bomber of this was $15, which came to $.68 per ounce. I wasn’t a fan of this beer, which shocked me, because the description, I assumed it would have been right in my wheelhouse.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

