Hair Of The Dog Fred

Posted: July 13, 2016 in American Strong Ale, Hair Of The Dog Brewery, Reviews

While I was in California, there was a small beer store that I found that had a bunch of hidden gems in the cold case. When I saw this beer, I knew it was coming back to the room with me, since I never thought I’d get a chance to try it.

fred

ABV: 10%

Style: American Strong Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Fred was created to honor beer writer and historian Fred Eckhardt. Fred is a big inspiration for me and many other brewers. Fred’s work in all-grain brewing and beer styles helped me become a better brewer. Fred the beer is a deep golden color. It is made with aromatic and rye malts and includes 10 different hop varieties in an effort to incorporate the whole world into this beer. It has 10% alcohol by volume and 65 IBUs. We hope that Fred will inspire you to share your knowledge with others as Fred has with us.”

Random: I know the beer is not meant to be consumed out of this glass, but it was either this or a plastic cup. The joys of traveling.

The brew poured with no head on top of a cloudy, golden-yellow body. There wasn’t any visible carbonation but lots of sediment floating throughout the body. The nose was boozy with a lot of heat. There was also a syrupy sweetness from a ton of candi sugar. The taste was also very boozy. It had a medicinal note that reminded me of a yellow cold medicine I took as a child and had to be bribed with chocolate to consume. It had the same thick, cloying sugar note. The body reminded me of an aged spirit. It was thick and syrupy with no carbonation and a significant burn on the throat. The finish was insanely long with the same medicinal sugar note. A bottle of this was expensive at $11.99 ($1 per ounce). Don’t get me wrong, I was glad to say that I tried this, but it just wasn’t my thing. I don’t know if it needed more age or it was a bad bottle, but I didn’t enjoy it.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

