Millstone Sidra Americana

Posted: July 21, 2016 in Cider, Millstone Cellars, Reviews

Tonight’s selection is a cider that I picked up in New York. One of the beer podcasts that I listen to, did a beer versus wine dinner and they brought out a Basque cider for one of the courses. I can’t say that I’m very familiar with them, but everyone on the podcast raved about the unique flavors, so I figured I’d jump on the bandwagon.

sidraamericana

ABV: 8%

Style: Cider

Trivia: According to the cidery website, “A homage to the basque style ciders, crafted using wild yeast from a skin contact fermentation and aged and blended using our solera method. A wildly tart style with unique farmhouse qualities and a mellow tannic finish.”

Random: I hate wax topped bottles. I’m always afraid I’m going to cut my finger when I open them.

This cider poured with no head on top of a very cloudy, light yellow body. There was light carbonation visible, despite how hazy the cider was. The nose had apples and a tartness with yeast. It also had an earthiness to it that I couldn’t completely place. The taste was filled with unripe apples. It had yeast and a white wine grape note with white vinegar. It also had the same earthiness as the nose, that manifested like hay with some nutmeg too. It had significant tartness, but it wasn’t overwhelming. The body was light with light carbonation. It had a quick, dry finish with tart apples. A bottle of this wasn’t cheap at $20.75 ($.83 per ounce). I had no problem drinking this cider and it was really unique. I’ve been searching out Basque-style ciders and this one did not disappoint. I would highly recommend it, especially to pair with cheese.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

