Best Damn Cherry Cola

Posted: August 10, 2016 in Anheuser-Busch Inc., Herbed/Spiced Beer, Reviews

I saw this in the single cooler at Hopewell Buy Rite and picked it up for Val. She wanted to crack it open, so I obliged and gave it a shot. I didn’t have high hopes for this beverage and…well, you can see what I thought of it.

bestdamncherrycola

ABV: 5.5%

Style: Herbed/Spiced Beer

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our Cherry Cola mission is ‘Put a Cherry on Top Tap.’ Refreshing BEST DAMN Cherry Cola combines caramel and cola notes with a delicious cherry taste. Aged on whole cherries after brewing, the result is a flavorful take on the timeless taste of Cherry Cola. Cheers!”

Random: One of my favorite sodas is cherry cola. I highly doubt that I will find a mass-produced alcoholic version that I enjoy.

This “soda” poured with no head on top of a dark brown body. Although it was dark, I could still pick up a lot of carbonation in it. The nose had artificial cherry syrup and cola notes. But, it reminded me of cheap cola and not a typical name brand. There wasn’t anything else to it. The taste was what you would have expected from this product. It had a lot of artificial cherry that overwhelmed the cola notes. There was a cola note, but again, it had an artificial sweetener to it that was completely off-putting. The body was on the thick and syrupy side with significant carbonation. The finish was quick, which I appreciated. The bottle was $1.83 ($.15 per ounce). Despite the affordable price, I won’t be having this again.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

