Flying Dog Tropical Stout (Brewhouse Rarities)

Posted: August 14, 2016 in American Stout, Flying Dog Brewery, Reviews

Although I respect Flying Dog a lot, I find the description of this beer misleading. If you’re into a fruity drink with an umbrella, this beer is not going to be for you. I can come up with a bunch of fruit beers that are much more appropriate for that comparison. Despite that, I enjoy a beer that pushes the limits. Let’s see how it was.

tropicalstout

ABV: 6%

Style: American Stout

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Rich, roasted malt meets juicy pineapple and toasted coconut, making this beer the perfect replacement for anything that comes with a tiny umbrella.”

Random: I am craving coconut now.

The beer poured with a thick, two finger, light brown head. It dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The nose had coconut, like the type of coconut you buy in a bag at the supermarket to make macaroons. It had some roasted malt and cocoa as well. I didn’t pick up any pineapple. The taste started like the typical stout with roasted malts, light smoke, and coffee. After the beer warmed a bit, I picked up some toasted coconut. At the end of the sip, I picked up canned pineapple, but it didn’t offer a huge amount of sweetness, which I appreciated. The body was thick with light carbonation. It had a quick, milk chocolate finish. A single bottle of the beer set me back $1.92 a bottle ($.16 per ounce). This beer was alright, but if you’re going to call it a tropical stout, I want more coconut and pineapple.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

