Sprecher Hard Ginger Beer

Posted: August 20, 2016 in Fruit/Vegetable Beer, Reviews, Sprecher Brewing Company

Since I got transferred, I’ve been walking an average of six miles a day on the dock. I had to buy shoe inserts because my feet were hurting so much. This is one of those days that my feet are just killing me. I wish I could train the cats to rub my feet.

hardgingerbeer

ABV: 4.7%

Style: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Not too sweet with a nice dry finish, natural ginger flavor gives Sprecher Hard Ginger Beer refreshing crispness. Try it by itself, in a Moscow Mule…however you see fit.”

Random: I wish I could find a ginger beer that I really enjoy. I haven’t tried that many, but what I have tried, I haven’t been the biggest fan of.

The beer poured with a quarter finger of white head. It dissipated very quickly and didn’t leave any lacing on the glass, but a small crown remained. The body was a clear, straw yellow color with intense carbonation. On the nose, I got a note of fresh ginger and a floral note as well. The taste had ginger as well, but it tasted more like powdered ginger than fresh ginger root. It had a slight sweetness as well. The body was light with carbonation that needed to be dialed up a bit. The finish was quick with the same ginger note. A single bottle was $2.42, which broke down to $.20 per ounce. I wanted to enjoy this one, but it was very one-note and I would have appreciated more of a fresh ginger note. I can see this one doing well in a Moscow Mule.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

