Round Guys Sundown Saison

Posted: August 22, 2016 in Reviews, Round Guys Brewing Company, Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Now that I get home from work earlier than Val, I’ve been getting through more of the shows on the DVR that I watch by myself. I think I have to pick some more because I barely have anything to watch now.

sundownsaison

ABV: 5.5%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Meet your new go-to beer, perfect for both the snowed in confines of a winter ski trip and those lazy sweltering days by the pool. This soft and sweet golden ale tinges your tongue with a hint of pungent fruitiness. Perfumey French yeast complement the medium body. Sundown Saison rounds out by delivering a persistent floral hop to the finish.”

Random: It just started storming here. Of course this happens when I want to mow the lawn.

This beer poured with a quarter finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, dark amber color with almost no carbonation visible. The nose had a lot of spice. Specifically, I picked up clove and coriander. There was also a biscuit note from the yeast with mustiness. I get a lot of citrus from it. The taste started with the same mustiness, like a wet basement. I’m thinking that this was an older can, because the note wasn’t pleasant. The citrus was still muted in the taste with clove as the major spice note. The body was very light, but very under-carbonated. It had an instant finish with clove. I bought this for $5, which came to $.42 per ounce. I didn’t enjoy this beer at all. I’d be willing to try a fresh can, but I’m not going to search it out.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

