Ballast Point Thai Chili Wahoo

Posted: August 23, 2016 in Ballast Point Brewing Company, Reviews, Witbier

This is a beer that I was really excited to pop open when Val and I got sushi. I thought the flavors would pair really well and I’m always excited about a chili beer.

thaichiliwahoo

ABV: 4.5%

Style: Witbier

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our Wahoo Wheat is brewed with unfiltered, un-malted wheat and oats that give it a distinctive cloudy complexity.True to the Belgian tradition, this Witbier boasts a refreshing, citrusy flavor thanks to the orange peel and coriander we add to the boil. This makes Wahoo an ideal beer for year-round beach weather.”

Random: Getting up early for work during the week translates to me not being able to sleep past 7 AM on weekends.

This beer poured with a quarter finger of white head that dissipated instantly. There was no lacing left on the glass. The body was very hazy and light yellow in color with minimal carbonation visible. The nose had a hot pepper note with orange peel and wheat. There wasn’t any other spice and the dominant scent was hot pepper. The taste was flat-out disappointing. It was all capsaicin heat, to the point that it burned the back of my throat. I couldn’t pick up lime, citrus or wheat because the heat was so intense. What annoyed me was the fact that the spice didn’t add flavor, but seemed to just steamroll every other aspect of the beer, which made it a bit gimmicky. The body was light and the carbonation was more significant than I would have guessed based on what I saw. The taste was all capsaicin heat. It burned the back of my throat. There was really not wheat characteristic because the heat was so overwhelming. The body was light with moderate carbonation. The finish was long and hot. This beer just wasn’t one I enjoyed. I felt that it was a bit gimmicky, and although the bomber was affordable at $6.99 ($.32 per ounce), I wouldn’t have it again.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

