Kopparberg Strawberry Lime Cider

Posted: August 28, 2016 in Cider, Kopparbergs Bryggeri, Reviews

When I was doing research on this cider, I found that they have a very popular pear cider. Of course, that’s not the one that I picked out. Instead, I went for the one that was much more “unique.”

strawberrylim

ABV: 4.5%

Style: Cider

Trivia: According to the cidery website, “Like summer in a glass; a splash of fresh strawberries in apple juice, and a squeeze of tangy lime. Drink it over ice and the job’s done. Available in can, bottle and on draught.”

Random: The cidery website asks if you’re legal drinking age in your country, but only gives a “yes” option. Also, the glass they show this cider in on the website is really interesting looking.

The cider poured with absolutely no head on top of a clear, bright, pink body. I could see some carbonation, but not nearly as much as I expected. On the nose, I picked up strawberry syrup and cherry ice pops. What wasn’t there was lime or apples, for that matter. I kept trying to find a yeast note too, but this was just cherry and strawberry soda. The taste started with incredible sweetness (and not in a good way). Like the nose, there was lots of strawberry syrup, but it was sweeter that I would have guessed. There wasn’t much cherry, but there was also a simple syrup note. The lime was muted and was also artificial tasting. At the end of the sip, I got juice box apple juice. The cider was cloyingly sweet and I couldn’t get past it. It had a medium thick body and was under-carbonated. The finish hung around for awhile and had the same sickeningly sweet note. A bottle of this was $2.99 ($.19 per ounce). I’m not a huge fan of sweet ciders and this is one that I won’t be having again.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

