Samuel Adams Rebel Rouser

Posted: August 30, 2016 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Boston Beer Company, Reviews

One day after work, I decided to stop at Canal’s in Hamilton because I hadn’t been there in years. I was looking for a six-pack of beer and wanted to see their regular selection. There wasn’t anything else that I felt I needed to have, but I came home with a six-pack of this beer, which has gotten a lot of favorable reviews lately.

rebelrouser

ABV: 8.4%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Bold, citrusy, and piney, our double IPA isn’t just a bigger version of Rebel IPA. Instead we explored a different balance of hop character, including Bravo & Galaxy hops, and upped the ante on their flavor and expression for a brew that’s intense yet enjoyable through every sip.”

Random: One of the beer podcasts I listen to had an interview with Jim Koch. I haven’t finished it, but so far it’s really interesting.

The beer poured with a quarter finger of cream-colored head that dissipated quickly. It left some lacing on the glass, but not much. The body was a clear, bright orange with a lot of carbonation visible. The aroma was strong. I picked up notes of spicy hops with pine resin with lemon flesh, but lemon right before it goes bad. There was no malt to speak of. The taste had a lot of depth. It had the same lemon flesh and pine sap. What I couldn’t get past was a weird, herbal spice note that I couldn’t place. I let it warm and it reminded me of menthol. It also had a green herbal note that bordered on basil. The booze did come through and dried out the mouthfeel. It had a medium body with light carbonation. The finish was quick with pine and green herbs. I liked this beer, and that surprised me. I haven’t been the biggest fan of Sam Adams IPAs, but this one worked. It’s still not the best DIPA I’ve had, but very accessible and worth a sip and pretty cheap at $2 a bottle ($.17 per ounce). Give it a shot!

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

