New Belgium Hoppy Blonde

Posted: September 8, 2016 in American Blonde Ale, New Belgium Brewing, Reviews

Tonight is another selection from New Belgium. I haven’t seen many reviews of this beer yet, but I wanted to give it a shot.

hoppyblonde

ABV: 5.7%

Style: American Blonde Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Take the leap and hop into the tropics with Hoppy Blonde Ale. This easy-drinking beer sips light and refreshing with a soft malt base, while vibrant notes of mango, lemon, blueberry and pine spring across the tongue courtesy of Mosaic, UK Admiral and Centennial dry-hopping. Light enough to session, but with a head rush of hops, Hoppy Blonde will leave you jumping for more.”

Random: One of my cats, Simcoe, was just prancing around the room with a fake mouse in his mouth. It took me a few seconds to figure out that it wasn’t real.

This beer poured with a thick, two finger, white head. It dissipated slowly and left spiderweb lacing n the glass. The body was a clear, medium yellow color with aggressive carbonation. The nose had a significant hop presence. I picked up pine and grass along with floral notes. There wasn’t any malt to this. The taste had a hop presence, but not as aggressive as the nose. The same pine and grass was there as well. The floral note was overtaken by the pine and after a few sips, I also picked up some grapefruit rind. I also found a grain-like malt note at the end. The one thing that bothered me was the watery body. The carbonation was light, which added to my dislike of the beer. It had a quick finish with light hop presence. I picked this one up for $1.75 ($.15 per ounce). I liked the bones of this beer, but it just didn’t feel finished.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

