Starr Hill King Of Hop With Habanero

Posted: September 18, 2016 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Reviews, Starr Hill Brewery

So, there is a bear sighting in my neighborhood. I had a feeling there were bears in the area, although we’ve never gotten an email from the mayor to bring trash cans and bird feeders in. I haven’t seen the bear yet, but I’m keeping my eyes out for it.

kingofhophabanero

ABV: 7.5%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Habanero King of Hop Imperial India Pale Ale is dry-hopped with glorious amounts of American hops and real habanero peppers to achieve an invigoratingly fresh aroma and royally spicy finish, which highlights the majestic citrus characteristics of the hops.”

Random: I picked this out because I needed to fill a six-pack.

This beer poured with a half a finger of white head. It dissipated instantly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a bit cloudy and light orange. It had intense carbonation visible too. The nose was a bit muted for the style. I didn’t pick up any habanero. Instead, I picked up lemon pith, freshly cut grass and pine. The taste was a completely different story. It started with the same lemon pith note and then went into a pine note, but it was like a pine cleaner. Then, the habanero came through and just numbed my tongue. As I swallowed, the heat hit the back of my throat. The habanero crushed the IPA flavors that I got in the beginning of the sip. The body was thin for the style (and the ABV was much lighter than I expected), but generous carbonation helped with drinkability. The finish was long…I felt the burn for a few minutes after I stopped drinking it. The bottle was $3, which came to $.25 per ounce. I was not a big fan of this beer. It was hot just for the sake of being hot.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

