Anderson Valley Briney Melon Gose

Posted: September 28, 2016 in Anderson Valley Brewing Company, Gose, Reviews

I’ve been recruiting like crazy at my job. Since I’m a site manager, it’s one of the responsibilities we have. The phone screens that I’ve had lately are hilarious. I did a phone screen today and the candidate hung up on me, but then resubmitted her application multiple times. I tried to call them back and even left my office number on the voice mail, but no response. I guess the job market had really improved.

brineymelongose

ABV: 4.2%

Style: Gose

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Born from our passion for experimentation, our Briney Melon Gose boasts a thirst-quenching tartness that is perfectly balanced by subtle watermelon flavors and aromas. Gentle additions of sea salt create a refreshing harmony between the acidity and fruity sweetness leading to clean, dry finish.”

Random: This beer uses Bravo hops.

This beer poured with a thin, three finger, white head. It dissipated slowly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, bright yellow with high carbonation visible despite the cloudiness. The nose was subtle, but had unripe honeydew, watermelon rind with salt. There was also a sour scent. The taste was tart watermelon rind and unripe watermelon flesh as well. The salt came through at the end. After a few sips, I picked up the honeydew as well with some white grapes. The flavors were all really bright and authentic, which is something that I was concerned about given that it had melon flavors. It had a thin body and high carbonation. The finish was swift with watermelon rind. A can of this was $1.83 ($.15 per ounce). This is a perfect summer beer to have by the pool or at a barbecue. This is going to be a cooler mainstay for me.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

