Maine Mead Works HoneyMaker Ram Island Lavender Lemonade

Posted: October 6, 2016 in Maine Mead Works, Mead, Reviews

Val and I picked this up in Maine and then, after trying it at the source, had no interest in popping open the bottle. We bought it at a beer store before we tried and I just wasn’t a fan. Lavender is generally hit or miss for me. I assume age didn’t help this one, but let’s see how it went.

lavenderlemonade

ABV: 7%

Style: Mead

Trivia: According to the meadery website, “Originating as a HoneyMaker cocktail, this is a blend of mead and a house-made lemonade, infused with lavender and mint.”

Random: This is available year-round.

This mead poured with no head on top of a greenish-yellow body with lots of floaties. There was no visible carbonation. The nose had notes of lavender and a green herbal note (which I’m guessing is the mint) as well as wildflower honey which gave it a sweet and floral note. The taste started with lemon and quickly went into lavender fabric softener. If I need to be specific, I believe it was called Lavender Sachet. My mother would use it on all of the sheets and the scent is unmistakable to me. It also had a green note with mint but also some green NyQuil. After a few sips, it seemed to have a rosemary note as well. There wasn’t a lot of honey like the nose had, which was disappointing. It had a thick body with light carbonation. The finish with the lavender cleaner stuck around forever. This was $9 for the bottle, which broke down to $.56 per ounce. I wasn’t a big fan of this one, although I gave it a lot of points for being unique.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

