Evil Twin No Hero

Posted: October 19, 2016 in Evil Twin Brewing, Oatmeal Stout, Reviews

One of things I used to love for breakfast was Irish oatmeal. I used to just eat it plain, but it was incredibly filling and I loved the texture. I think it’s one of the reasons that I gravitate to oatmeal stouts when I see them on the shelf.

nohero

ABV: 7%

Style: Oatmeal Stout

Trivia: This was brewed at Two Roads in Stratford, Connecticut.

Random: I need to get a haircut. I can’t remember the last time that my hair was this long. It’s really annoying.

This beer poured with a one finger, tan head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown, almost black with no carbonation visible. The nose was very smoky had a lot of roasted malts. There wasn’t a lot of coffee but huge amounts of oatmeal, which was surprising. The taste was very ashy, like old cigarettes left in an ashtray. The other flavors were muted because of how strong the smoke and ash notes were. The oatmeal that I picked up in the nose wasn’t apparent in the taste at all. After a few sips, some cocoa powder came through too. The body was thick with some booze as well. It had moderate carbonation. The finish was long with the same ash that permeated the nose and the taste. A pounder can of this was $2.62, which broke down to $.16 per ounce. I didn’t really enjoy this beer much. It had no balance to it.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

