Ninkasi Spring Reign

Posted: October 24, 2016 in American Pale Ale, Ninkasi Brewing Company, Reviews

As I post a beer review about a Spring seasonal in late October, I should probably say again that I post really far in advance. Because of my job, there are times that I can go weeks without posting and I used to just post my backlog in an entire day. I changed my approach and decided I would schedule 1 post per day (Monday through Friday, 5 PM and Saturday and Sunday 10 AM) and if I go weeks without posting, it’s not as big of a deal. With that being said, I had this beer in mid-May.

springreign

ABV: 6%

Style: American Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A lightly toasted British-style malt flavor balanced by bright Northwest-style hops. Spring forward with this refreshing seasonal ale. Notes of toasted malt up front, with a bright and crisp Northwest hop finish. It’s a session beer that everyone can enjoy! Like many Ninkasi beers, this is an ale more than a specific style, though we put it in the Northwest Pale category. A light toasted malt flavor is more reminiscent of a British Pale, but the hops are bright and very Northwest. Flavorful and easy to drink!”

Random: This beer pairs well with salads, soups, poultry, fish, cheese plates and dried fruit according to the website.

The brew poured with a finger of white head that dissipated slowly and left limited lacing on the glass. The body was hazy and dark orange. There wasn’t much carbonation visible. On the nose, I picked up very bready yeast, dry crackers and light skunk. I didn’t get a lot of hops on this. The taste was more skunky than the nose, which wasn’t pleasant to me. It was even more bready with biscuit and a little bit of grainy sweetness. The body was on the lighter side with high carbonation. It had a quick finish with the same bread and skunk. A bottle of this was $2.30, which came to $.19 per ounce. Despite the price, I wouldn’t have this one again. It was too boring to revisit.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

