3 Stars Ghost – White IPA

Posted: November 1, 2016 in 3 Stars Brewing Company, Belgian IPA, Reviews

Since I’ve started the blog, I get a lot of beer from out-of-state. Whenever my parents or my sister or Val leaves the state, they come back with beer. I’m not complaining, but lately I feel like I’m reviewing more beer that doesn’t get NJ distribution. This is one of those beers and as soon as I saw it, I loved the can and hoped the liquid would be just as good…

3starsghost

ABV: 5.9%

Style: Belgian IPA

Trivia: This beer uses Amarillo, Simcoe, Columbus and Citra hops.

Random: It’s going to start getting cold soon. I’m not looking forward to snow.

The beer poured with a two finger, thin white head. It took awhile to go away and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was clear, which I didn’t expect and bright straw yellow with lots of carbonation. The nose started with grass clippings and old pine but shifted gears quickly and wheat and caramel malt came through. It was actually pretty sweet on the nose. The taste was equally sweet with the same caramel malt and wheat. When the hops came through, they were muted and had a lot of old orange zest that you would find in potpourri. It had a thick body with moderate carbonation that made this difficult to drink. The finish was unfortunately lengthy with the same aged citrus zest. You can pick up a single of this for $3 ($.19 per ounce), but I don’t think they have NJ distribution (Val picked this up outside of DC). I didn’t like this beer at all. It was a chore to finish the pounder can and I wouldn’t have it again.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

