Oskar Blues Beerito

Posted: November 5, 2016 in Oskar Blues Grill & Brewery, Reviews, Vienna Lager

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a Vienna Lager. The last one I had was from Neshaminy Creek and I really enjoyed it. Let’s see if I like this one better.

beerito

ABV: 4%

Style: Vienna Lager

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Beerito (4% ABV, 21 IBUs) is a light bodied, amber Mexican lager brewed with premium German and coloRADo sourced craft malts and featuring a crisp accent from noble hops. The mouth feel is incredibly smooth with flavors of walnut, toasted bread, plum, honey and cocoa – 4% ABV doesn’t always come with this kind of character.”

Random: I wish more breweries would do Vienna Lagers. I guess because of tank space, it’s cost prohibitive.

This beer poured with a thick, two finger, khaki-colored head. It took forever to dissipate and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was clear and sienna colored with lots of carbonation. The nose was really subtle with toasted malt and nuttiness and nothing else. I wish I could have picked up the cocoa and plum, but it just wasn’t there, even after I let it warm. The taste had slightly more depth with toasted malt, hazelnuts and a slight skunk note. The cocoa note was very light, but did come out. It drank way heavier than the ABV with a thick body. It did have a lot of carbonation to go along with it, which made it much easier to drink. The finish was swift and nutty with cocoa. This will run you about $2 a can ($.17 per ounce). I can see why they brewed this and I think this is a beer that I would be more impressed by if I paired it with food as opposed to reviewing by itself. I know what I’ll be having next time I get Mexican food.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

