Trillium Congress Street IPA

Posted: November 12, 2016 in American IPA, Reviews, Trillium Brewing Company

My parents and sister going antiquing in Massachusetts quite often and they always come back with goodies. This time, they put me on the phone with the staff at the beer store and my first question was if they had Trillium. I fully expected to be told no, but they had two different beers from them. This was the first one that I tried.

congressstreet

ABV: 7.2%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our flagship American IPA highlights the distinctively aromatic Australian Galaxy hop. The nose bursts with pine, citrus rind, melon and pineapple. Pronounced flavors of peach, clementine, and tropical fruits are accentuated with moderate bitterness and balanced by a light, biscuity malt character. ”

Random: This uses Galaxy and Columbus hops.

This poured with a four finger, pure white head that dissipated slowly. It left spiderweb lacing on the glass. The body was incredibly hazy and lemon juice colored. Because of the cloudiness, I couldn’t see any carbonation. The nose was filled with grapefruit pith and fresh pine. On the next sniff, I got pineapple and peach and apricot. I couldn’t pick up any malt, which I wasn’t complaining about. I couldn’t wait to give it a taste. The taste was just incredible. At first, I got a lot of fresh grapefruit hops that were almost to the point of removing tooth enamel (but in a good way). Then, the tropical fruits and tangerine came through. There was also peach and apricot. Again, there was no malt to this beer and lot of bitterness, which was right in my wheelhouse. The body was medium to thick with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy with peach and tangerine. This beer was truly outstanding and if you’re ever in Massachusetts, it would behoove you to get some.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

