Jailbreak Welcome To Scoville Jalapeno IPA

Posted: November 17, 2016 in Herbed/Spiced Beer, Jailbreak Brewing Company, Reviews

As I get older, I enjoy spicy foods more. When I was a kid, I hated anything spicy. Now, I order things extra spicy most of the time and it’s a crisis in the house if we run out of hot sauce. When I saw Val picked this beer up for me, I thought it was right in my wheelhouse.

scovillejalapenoipa

ABV: 6.9%

Style: Herbed/Spiced Beer

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “An artisanal style IPA combining mildly bitter hops, garden fresh jalapeño peppers and cilantro. With a moderate malt profile, this culinary concoction offers both an easy drinking IPA and a bowl full of jalapeños without the burn of bittering one might expect. Never would Scoville have imagined such a fitting match for the world’s perfect pepper.”

Random: I love fresh jalapenos from the garden.

I poured this beer and got a one finger, slightly off white head. It dissipated quickly and left limited lacing on the glass. The body was a clear amber color with light carbonation. The nose had slight pepper spice and grassy hops. I couldn’t pick up much else. The taste had way more malt than I expected and a weird rusty taste up front. Once I got through that, I picked up jalapeno spice at the end that hit me right in the back of the throat. It was more like a fresh jalapeno note as opposed to a pickled one. The booze was hidden but the metallic and rusty taste was so off putting that I had trouble drinking this at times. The body was on the medium side with light carbonation. It had a quick finish with jalapeno flesh and ribs and metal. A can of this was $2, which came to $.17 per ounce. I was so excited to give this beer a try, but I think it needs some refining.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

