Russian River Consecration

Posted: November 18, 2016 in American Wild Ale, Reviews, Russian River Brewing Company

Val and I went to Local 44 in Philly for lunch one Sunday. They had this beer on tap, which I thought I had and reviewed, but when I checked the blog, I was mistaken. Once I saw that, I knew I had to have this one.

consecration

ABV: 10%

Style: American Wild Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Dark Ale aged in Cabernet Sauvignon barrels from local wineries. It is aged for 4 to 8 months with black currants, brettanomyces, lactobacillus, and pediococcus added to each barrel. Rich flavors of chocolate truffle, spice, tobacco, currants, and a bit of Cabernet. Very full-bodied, sip slowly!”

Random: Russian River can do no wrong, seriously.

This beer poured with a quarter of a finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was cloudy and dark brown in color. Since it was so cloudy, I couldn’t see how much carbonation was there. The nose was filled with tart red wine grapes and vinegar. Brett came through too. The taste started with a lot of oak, vanilla and red grapes. Currants were there as well with slight funk from the Brett. It was really vinous and complex. The booze was insanely well-hidden. It had a medium thick body with a lot of carbonation, which made this no problem to drink. It had a lengthy finish with red wine grapes, oak and vanilla. I paid $9 for a 10 ounce draft ($.90 per ounce), which is expensive but worth every penny. This is easily one of the best beers that I’ve ever had. Another outstanding beer from Russian River.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

